We’re in a fight Maybelline…

by Caton McKenna

OK…I’ve never really had allergies, to anything.

Up until a few years ago.

The first time I got my notorious puffy eyes allergies was Jr. year of college. My dear friend Katie asked me to go with her back home to Maryland for a big family party. I was psyched.

Until I woke up with my eyes swollen shut and crusty.

It was gross.

I still went on the trip like a trooper and tried to avoid mirrors at all costs. I tore up the dance floor, and it seemed like the allergies only lasted for a few hours in the morning.

No big.

Then, I went on a trip to Spain with the Cornell Dairy Science club.

I felt amazing, and my self-esteem was soaring.

Do you think God could let me go just a few days without plighting my bliss?

Nope. Bam. Puffy eyes. In a foreign country. Take that Caton. (In God’s voice).

I tried to rock sunglasses the whole trip, but I still needed to take them off indoors to avoid highlighting my natural clutziness now heightened by wearing sunglasses indoors.

Look at that beauty with the puffy eyes….

I tried everything to soothe my aching eyes (tea bags, warm washcloths, no make-up), nothing worked. This time it took about 5 days for me to recover, just in time for the trip to be over. Perfect.

I went to the Dr., but no one knew what I was allergic to… could it be:

  • alcohol (*gasp, please God no)?
  • strawberries?
  • cover-up?
  • mascara?

It was still a mystery until the puffy eyes made an appearance a few months ago….I had just bought new mascara

Of course I chose the cheapest mascara I could find, since I’m a bargain hunter…

I chose Maybelline (pink and green) and thought to myself..this was the brand I used to wear in college!

Ding, ding, ding. We have a winner!

Maybe she’s born with VERY PUFFY, RED EYES orrrrrr

MAYBE IT’S MAYBELLINE.

 

Please note, just to be sure, I tried a little of this mascara again a couple of nights ago, because I have an aversion to throwing out a “perfectly good” new bottle of mascara (dude- that stuff is expensive). Suspicions confirmed, I woke up with puffy eyes. That experiment was so not worth it.

Check me out this morning, I’m a hot babe. Thank-God it’s a snow day or my students would have a hay day with this look.

