At first, I did not know it was your diary. I thought it was a very sad, handwritten book.

by Caton McKenna

Bridesmaids!!! Let’s face it, anything with Kristen Wiig in it, I’m going to watch. She is hilarious. Every performance on SNL from Gilly to the Target Lady has me rolling! I pretty much want to be her. I’ll be honest, when I saw she was doing a feature film, I was like, is this another MacGruber (please God no), but to be honest, I was pleasantly surprised.

I met my good friend and coworker Rebekah and roommate Stacey at Chili’s for happy hour specials before the movie (I feel like such an adult- please say that with an emphasis on the “ad” for good measure). Our waiter was especially tall, and when he made a move on me by sprinkling some salt on my napkin so my drink didn’t stick to it (if that doesn’t say I want you, I don’t know what does), I confessed my distaste for tall men. We fell into this very animated conversation about how I have an aversion to guys who are above 5’10 or so because they make me feel beneath them, physically and emotionally. I just want to be equal, in everything. I also feel like maneuvering the height difference in the bedroom could be challenging. The girls heartily disagreed with me, but they both love tall men, so they’re biased.

After great conversation and mediocre drinks, we made our way to the movie theater.

The film had some elements similar to The Hangover, like the gross graphic humor (food poisoning scene was a little unnecessary) and token funny chubby character, but the similarities end there. Sidenote: I want the comic relief character for a movie to be really attractive and just, really gross. Is that too much to ask? I’m over the fat, unattractive actors/actresses always getting cast for the “laugh at their lack of social couth” roles.

Anyways, this movie is not the typical, “girl gets jealous of her friend who is getting married because she wants to get married too,” rather with a slight twist, the movie focuses on the realities of wedding stress.  The maid of honor (Wiig) faces financial hardship, and she has a difficult time affording all of the additional wedding expenses. Because of her money issues, it is especially infuriating to her character that “Helen” (one of the other bridesmaids) can sweep the bride off to Paris and buy a couture bridesmaids dress without hesitation.

Throughout the wedding process, Wiig begins to unravel until she hits rock bottom. In one scene, Melissa McCarthy’s character consoles Wiig.

I don’t associate with people who blame the world for their problems. You are your problem. You are also your solution.

The scene was so surprisingly sweet, that I couldn’t help but cry. Everyone needs friends like that. The ones who will tell it to you straight no matter how hard life gets. I’m lucky to have several friends like that!

I also appreciate friends who have memorable conversations like this one (from the film) often under the influence of alcohol:

What kind of name is Stove anyways? Are you a kitchen appliance?

No, my name is Steven, and I’m a man.

You’re a flight attendant.

Overall, I give Bridesmaids a 7. Not quite up to my comedic standards and Wiig was rather unbelievable in the romantic role, but the strong message and realistic dialogue made up for it.

